AFF Firebirds Joshua Brame (left - Onehunga Sports) and Jamie Lamb (Central Utd FC) celebrate

Future stars grace Weir Rose Bowl

Monday, October 31, 2011
Share on Facebook Print this Article

Almost 120 future stars of football in Auckland were on show at North Harbour Stadium over the weekend as nine Auckland Football Federation (AFF) teams competed at the 2011 U-12 Weir Rose Bowl tournament.

Five boys teams and four girls sides represented Auckland Football at the annual event which has brought together the most talented footballers from Northland to Taupo since the first boys tournament in 1954.

AFF Football Development Manager Stevie Baxter says the tournament was a tremendous success in a number of ways for Auckland Football.

“From a playing perspective it was great to put our training into practice in games and to allow all the players to get federation game time was excellent,” Baxter said.

“It was great to see the guiding principles of our philosophy coming out in the performances of our players and teams on the park and they can now take those experiences back to their club environments to continue their development.”

Under the refreshed Talent Development Framework of New Zealand Football - which aims to widen the base of talent at U-12 level - the Auckland Football Brenda Kerr and her AFF Crystals team during halftime of the final of the girls Weir Rose Bowl eventsides were not streamed as they have been in previous years.

“Under the new framework our role is to make the base of our talent pyramid at this age group as big as we can to feed a greater number of quality players into the older age bands further up the chain at FTC level,” Baxter said.

“It was great to be able to begin that process with our Weir Rose Bowl preparation and everyone involved in the event from Auckland Football can be proud of their effort.”

The AFF Firebirds team, coached by Andrew Campbell and Ian Davidson, were winners of the boys event after taking a 1-0 win over Waikato Bay of Plenty Football’s Federation side in the final.

AFF Firebirds player Justin Bailey (Onehunga Sports) took out the Golden Boot award as the tournament top scorer with eight goals.

Three of the four boys semi-finalists were Auckland Football teams as the AFF Chargers, coached by Ryan Shiffman, and the AFF Sharks, coached by Paul Marshall and Grant Bracey were also among the top four sides at the event.

Meanwhile, the AFF Crystals team, coached by Brenda Kerr, reached the girls final where they were beaten 1-0 by Waikato Bay of Plenty Football’s Federation team.

AFF Emeralds player Annabelle Pakieto (Ellerslie AFC) finished as the top scorer in the girls event with seven goals. The AFF Firebirds were the winners of the boys Weir Rose Bowl event

Click the related article link below for a full list of the Auckland Football team results over the three-day tournament. Click here for a look at the full tournament results/standings (NFF website).

Visit our Facebook page for a selection of photos from the tournament.

Photos by Shane Wenzlick

No 1 No 2 No 3 No 4
Lotto NRFL Men's Premier
Team Played Pts
Glenfield Rovers 13 30
Bay Olympic 13 25
Onehunga Sports 13 23
Birkenhead United 14 20
Three Kings United 14 18
East Coast Bays 12 18
Central United 12 18
Hamilton Wanderers 12 16
Waitakere City 13 11
Ngaruawahia United 14 4
NRFL Men's Prem Golden Boot
Player Team Goals
Michael Gwyther Glenfield Rovers 10
Stuart Holthusen Onehunga Sports 10
Jarrod Smith Birkenhead United 10
Dylan Manickum Three Kings United 9
Mario Hoffman East Coast Bays 8
Lotto NRFL Men's Division 1
Team Played Pts
Western Springs 16 36
Ellerslie 16 34
Eastern Suburbs 15 34
Hibiscus Coast 16 31
Melville United 15 24
Mangere United 16 23
Takapuna 16 19
Mt Albert-Ponsonby 16 17
Metro 16 17
North Shore United 16 14
Manurewa 15 8
Papatoetoe 15 8
NRFL Men's Div 1 Golden Boot
Player Team Goals
Lee Robinson Takapuna 17
Ernesto Lopez Mangere United 13
Jared Colligan Mt Albert-Ponsonby 11
Andy Wallace Ellerslie 11
Jaryd Gray North Shore United 9
Lotto NRFL Men's Division 2
Team Played Pts
Tauranga City Utd 16 40
Forrest Hill Milford 16 36
Waiuku 17 31
Papakura City 17 29
Oratia United 16 26
North Force 16 24
Fencibles United 16 21
Albany United 15 19
Onehunga-Mangere 17 19
Claudelands Rovers 17 16
Lynn-Avon United 17 14
Warkworth 16 6
NRFL Men's Div 2 Golden Boot
Player Team Goals
Harry Hillary-Jenkins Papakura City 28
Luke Chapman Waiuku 18
Steve Schimmel North Force 16
Jerahl Hughes Tauranga City Utd 15
Andrew Cooper Tauranga City Utd 14
Lotto NRFL Women's Premier
Team Played Pts
Forrest Hill Milford 12 32
Glenfield Rovers 12 28
Eastern Suburbs 13 28
Claudelands Rovers 13 28
Lynn-Avon United 13 20
Three Kings United 14 19
Papatoetoe 14 13
Fencibles United 13 12
Western Springs 13 7
Bay of Plenty 11 0
NRFL Women's Golden Boot
Player Team Goals
Helen Collins Claudelands Rovers 27
Rebecca Tegg Eastern Suburbs 19
Katie Rood Glenfield Rovers 18
Emma Rolston Forrest Hill Milford 12
Katie Jackson Glenfield Rovers 9

© Auckland Football Federation 2010.